Paid Sick Leave in Washington 2021
When every company or employer in the state has their own different sets of rules and laws pertaining to paid and unpaid sick leave, the matter can become quite confusing for many employees as they are unsure of what applies to them. The recently passed Washington paid sick leave laws to apply to all organizations and institutions operating in the state and so make for a consistent and homogenous legislation that is applicable across the board.
How long is Paid Sick Leave in Washington Available?
Employees accrue one hour of paid sick leave for every 40 hours they work for the employer. When it comes to the cap of the hours granted as paid sick leave, there is no upper limit or cap in the Washington Sick Leave Law.
However, when carrying over paid sick leave hours from one year to the next, the cap is 40 hours.
Eligibility of Paid Sick Leave in Washington
Employees that come under the Washington Minimum Wage Law also come under the Sick Leave Law, including all agricultural workers, full-time workers, part-time workers, seasonal workers, as well as temporary workers.
An employee has to have worked at least 90 days to become eligible to begin using their accrued leave hours. Employers can also front load paid sick leave.
How to Apply for Paid Sick Leave in Washington?
The employee should ideally inform the employer of their intention to take their paid sick leave a maximum of seven days before they go on the leave. If it is not possible for them to foresee the event in which they may have to take a sick leave and it arises all of a sudden, the employee should make an honest effort to inform the employer as soon as practically possible.
The employer is also required to retain this documentation in their records and keep the information confidential in order to maintain the privacy of the individual, especially if they have opted to take the sick leave after facing domestic violence or other physical and mental harm of such nature.
=> You may like to read: Paid Maternity Leave Washington 2018
Any Specific rule apply for Paid Sick Leave in Washington
The likes of white-collar employees, student workers, substitute teachers, and outside salespersons are not in their right to ask for a paid sick leave as they are not covered by the law. The sick leave cannot be used as a bereavement leave on the incident of the death of a loved one.
Sick leave can be taken by an individual to cater for their own health, mental or physical, or the health of a family member. Sick leave can also be taken for appointments, diagnosis, tests, and checkups.