Paid Sick Leave in Rhode Island 2022
Rhode Island became the eighth state in the United States in July of 2018 to grant paid sick leave to employees.
How long is Paid Sick Leave in Rhode Island?
Employers employing 18 or more employees are obliged to offer paid sick leave according to the Rhode Island Healthy and Safe Families and Workplaces Act.
Employers having less than 18 employees are not obliged to give their employees paid sick leave but the employees have the right to take unpaid sick leave for a certain amount of hours based on the running year.
Employees can take unpaid sick leave for 24 hours in 2018, 32 hours, in 2019, and 40 hours come 2020. Employees cannot legally take any action against the employee for taking this unpaid sick leave provided it stays within the given time frame.
Employees get one hour of paid sick leave for every 35 hours they work. the maximum number of accrued paid sick leave hours is 24 hours in 2018. This number will, however, rise to 32 hours in 2019 and 40 hours in the year 2020.
Eligibility of Paid Sick Leave in Rhode Island?
All employees of an employer considered to be covered are eligible for paid sick leave regardless of whether they are full time, part time, seasonal, or temporary employees at the organization in question.
Employees begin to accrue paid sick leave hours since the commencement of their employment. The employer can, however, impose a 90 day long waiting period only after which can the full-time employee use their paid sick leave time. For seasonal employees, this waiting period is extended to 150 days, whereas for temporary employees, a 180 day waiting period is put in place.
How to Apply for Paid Sick Leave in Rhode Island?
In the case that the employee knows that they will need to take the sick leave beforehand, they must inform the employer a maximum of seven days before they actually ask for the leave.
If it is not foreseeable, it is advised that the individual inform their employer as soon as practically possible. The employer can ask for written documentation as verification of the absence of the employee but is not entitled to be made aware of the details or circumstances of the situation.
=> You may like to read: Paid Maternity Leave Rhode Island 2018
Any Specific rule apply for Paid Sick Leave in Rhode Island
The employer can choose to use the accrual system or may opt to give the maximum leave hours at the beginning of the year to all employees. Sick leave hours are carried over from year to year but can only be used under the specified cap of hours.
The sick leave can be taken for the employee’s personal sickness or to look after that of a family member’s. The family member, in this case, can be a spouse, a natural or foster child, a parent, a parent in law, a grandparent, a sibling, or a grandchild.