Maternity Leave For Nurses In California
The joy of becoming a mother has no end. For most mothers, it’s one of the magical feeling they have ever experienced. However, pregnancy, labour and delivery can take a toll on your entire body. Hence, you will need some time off work to take care of your body and nurse your child properly during those first few weeks. You will need maternity leave to enable you to do this effectively. In California, nurses aren’t exempted from such rights by the federal maternity leave laws. Here are a few tips to help you plan for your maternity leave as a nurse.
How Long Is Maternity Leave For Nurses In California Available?
Federal law does not require employers to provide mothers with paid leave after they give birth or adopt a child. However, under the Family and Medical Leave Act, qualifying employers must allow employees to take up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave after the birth or adoption of a child.
To qualify for this leave, you must have worked for the employer for at least 12 months before requesting leave, and you must have worked at least 1,250 hours for the employer in the 12 months immediately preceding leave.
However, California parental and pregnancy leave laws are one of the best in the US. There is also the pregnancy disability leave law (PDLL). This may become an option if you become disabled during pregnancy. And it lasts for four months.
It includes pregnancy-related illnesses such as morning sickness, doctor prescribed bed rest, prenatal care, childbirth and recovery from childbirth. This kind of leave is not just resulting from pregnancy alone; you must be deemed unfit to perform at least one task without risking your life and that of your unborn child.
How To Apply For Paid Maternity Leave For Nurses In California?
Some employers still offer paid maternity leave even when some states do not endorse it. But under the Family and Medical Leave Act, qualifying employers must allow employees to take up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave after the birth or adoption of a child.
In other cases, you will need to meet up with some certain requirement before you can qualify for leave as a nurse. In most cases, the hospital management may require you to work in the hospital for a minimum of one year before you can qualify for a paid maternity leave.
Any Specific Rules Apply For Nurses In California?
Most employees have a guaranteed right to be reinstated with their employer when they return from family leave. This is true even if the employee’s position was restructured or replaced to accommodate the employee’s absence.
=> You may like to read: What is the Difference Between Maternity Leave and Short-Term Disability
The right to reinstatement means that the employee is entitled to the same or a comparable position. If the employer chooses to reinstate the nurse in a different position, the new position must be equivalent to the nurses’ former position regarding pay, benefits, shift, schedule, geographic location, and working conditions, including privileges, perquisites, and status.